This documentation corresponds to a historical version of Yellowfin

Icon

Access the latest release, or view a list of available versions of the documentation.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Overview

Content is stored within a two tier folder structure of Categories and Sub Categories. Categories are used to hold and split Sub Categories into grouping. They do not contain content directly. Sub Categories are located within a defined Category and are used to store content with specified function and access permissions.

The content that is stored in this structure is of the following forms;

  • Report
  • Dashboard Tab
  • Storyboard

Content Management

To create and edit Content Categories you will need to have access to Category Access in Administration. Navigate to Administration > General > Content Categories to access the list of categories & sub categories in the system.

Your secure sub categories, default draft folder, and approval categories are highlighted by the use of icons on the right hand side of the list.

Category

  1. Click the create link button at the bottom of your list, or the Create New Category link from Administration, to create a new Category. This will open the Category Form.
  2. Provide a Name and Description for the Sub Category
  3. Select the Category level. In your hierarchy of content you must first create a category level before you create its associated Sub Categories.
  4. Provide a sort order if required
    Note: leaving the value as 0 will use standard alphabetical sorting.
  5. Select the status of the category
    Note: if you leave the category in DRAFT mode users will not be able to access content or store content in this category.

Sub Category

  1. Click the create link button at the bottom of your list, or the Create New Category link from the Admin Console, to create a new Category. This will open the Category Form.
  2. Provide a Name and Description for the Sub Category
  3. Select the Sub Category level. In your hierarchy of content you must first create a category level before you create its associated Sub Categories.
  4. Select a Category to store the Sub Category in to
  5. Define if this is the Draft Content Storage category
    Note: enabling this option means that any content that is not activated is automatically stored in this Sub Category. There can only be one Draft Storage category.
  6. Provide a sort order if required
    Note: leaving the value as 0 will use standard alphabetical sorting.
  7. Select the status of the category
    Note: if you leave the category in DRAFT mode users will not be able to access content or store content in this category.


Publish Access & Approvals


In the Category edit page the Publish Access and Approvals section allows you to determine which users can publish public reports to the category.

  • If you select ‘Users with Functional Access” then all users with the public report function can write to this folder
  • If you select a person or expert group – then only specified users can publish reports into that folder. If a user does not have access to publish to that folder the report will be routed to an Expert for approval.


Report Version History


One option available within Yellowfin is the ability to maintain previous instances of a report. When a user selects this option not only is the report definition saved but the data as well. This allows users to view previous versions of the report and compare result sets.

All versions of the report data are stored in the Yellowfin Database. As the administrator you can determine how much history and the maximum size of reports you wish to save. This is an application management process that permits you to control the use of your infrastructure.

Version History

The version history allows you to store the data returned in a report.
If version history is set to Only keep the latest result set then no historical results will be kept.
If the Keep archived report result sets option is selected then all historical versions of the reports will be kept. Note: It's important to remember that this option can quickly build up quite a large amount of data, so use this option sparingly.

Max Size

The maximum size for data to be saved in cache or in the database where version history is required.

Max Items Displayed

The maximum number of items to be displayed on the history drop down list for management information reports.

Delete Period

After what period of time should archived reports be deleted.


Content Security & Access


You can secure your categories to restrict users’ access to the content writing and view capability for the selected category. The options for setting the security are as follows:

  1. Unsecure Content (people can access this without logging on)
  2. Secure (users will have to logon before being able to view the content – but all users of your site will be able to view it).
  3. Access Security Level Required – only selected users will be able to access this content.

If you choose to secure the category then you must select a person or group and then the level of access that they are permitted. Three types of access exist:

Read

Users will only be able to read the content but not create new items of this type of content.

Edit & Update

If a content item exists a user will be able to edit and update an existing piece of content but not create new or delete items in this category. They will also be able to read all content in this category.

Delete

Users with delete access will be able to read, edit, create and delete content of this type. You must have at least one person with delete access.

Note: if you want all your users to be able to read the item make sure you have a group created with all your users. Use this group for read access.

When you have selected a person, and or a group click add to add them to the access list. You can have as many groups and people in the list as you wish. You cannot finish the process if you do not have at least one person or group with delete access. Select a person with delete access to finish.


Primary Org Content Security


When using Client Org functionality you are able to secure Content Categories at the Primary Org by assigning access to User Groups created at the Client Org level. This will allow Administrators to restrict Primary Org content to specified users in each Client Org, rather than all Primary Content being available to all Client Org users.